Home News Local News

Election vacancies remain before Thursday deadline

Prairie City School District position the only contested race as of Tuesday afternoon.

By Sean Hart

Blue Mountain Eagle

Published on March 14, 2017 6:39PM

Last changed on March 14, 2017 6:42PM

Jerry Barrow drops his ballot into a dropbox at the Grant County Courthouse on Nov. 8. No one has filed to run for several open positions in the May election this year.

Eagle file photo

Jerry Barrow drops his ballot into a dropbox at the Grant County Courthouse on Nov. 8. No one has filed to run for several open positions in the May election this year.

Buy this photo

Time is running out to file to run for local board positions up for election in May.

Grant County Clerk Brenda Percy said the deadline to file is 5 p.m. Thursday, March 16, and no one had filed to run for several positions as of Tuesday afternoon.

Grant County Education Service District Zone No. 5, as well as an at-large position, have no candidates. Not enough people have filed to fill all the open at-large positions for Prairie Rural Fire District, John Day Canyon City Parks and Recreation, Fox Cemetery District, Mid-County Cemetery District and Monument Cemetery District.

Only one race is currently contested. Andrea Ennis and Justin Jacobs have both filed to run for Prairie City School District No. 4’s Position No. 1. Nancy Hitz, Lindsay Rausch and Mike Wall are running unopposed for the other three positions.

Kelly Stokes, Josh Walker, Ben Holliday and Chris Cronin are running for the four Grant School District No. 3 positions. Vonda Stubblefield, Elizabeth Lovelock, Jeff Thomas and Maria Thomas are running for the four Monument School District No. 8 positions. Babette Larson, Casey Fretwell and Tandi Merkord are running for the three Dayville School District No. 16J positions. Patti Hudson, Marsiellette Watson, Bubba Wainwright and Michael Gibson are running for four open positions for Long Creek School District No. 17. For the ESD, Shilo Fretwell is running for Zone No. 2, and Robert Cockrell is running for Zone No. 3.

Linda Cook, Jim Jerome and Bryan Nelson are running for three positions for Grant County Transportation District. Doug Sharp and Lisa Weigum are the only candidates who have filed for three Parks and Recreation positions. Linda Ladd, Karla Averett and Ryan Gerry are running for three Blue Mountain Hospital District positions.

Todd McKinley, Bill Wilcox and Pat Holliday are running for three open positions for John Day Rural Fire District. Mt. Vernon Rural Fire District has three open positions, and Homer Harrison, Willis Kimball and Dan Komning have filed to run. No candidates have filed for two open Prairie Rural Fire District positions.

Jacqueline Burnette and Valores A. Hall have filed to run for two open Long Creek Cemetery District positions, and Marlene Woodley has filed for the sole position for Prairie Cemetery District. James M. Moore is the only candidate who has filed for two open Mid-County Cemetery District positions. No one has filed to run for two positions for Fox Cemetery District and one position for Monument Cemetery District.

For forms or more information, visit oregonvotes.org or Percy at the clerk’s office in the Grant County Courthouse.


Share and Discuss


User Comments