Home News Local News

Grant received for housing district

Advisory committees appointed.

By Richard Hanners

Blue Mountain Eagle

Published on January 30, 2018 4:45PM

A for-sale sign in John Day.

Eagle file photo

A for-sale sign in John Day.

Buy this photo

The city of John Day was awarded a $37,800 technical assistance grant from the Oregon Department of Land Conservation and Development for help in establishing a Housing Development District, City Manager Nick Green told the city council Jan. 23.

The city’s goal is to promote home construction in John Day by providing cash and tax incentives to prospective homebuilders that the city would recoup through increased tax revenue from the new development.

The city is required to hire a professional consultant to facilitate public meetings and to produce an urban renewal plan and report for the district. The public process also calls for establishing community and technical advisory committees to help create the housing district.

The Project Advisory Committee (formerly called the Community Advisory Committee) will meet about once every six to eight weeks from Jan. 29 through June 2019 to review and provide public feedback on the city’s proposed Housing Development District, as well as the Transportation and Growth Management plan for the Innovation Gateway and the Main Street Revitalization projects. The Technical Advisory Committee will review and approve the same projects.

The council chose 18 people for the Project Advisory Committee: Chris Conin, Grant School Board chairwoman and John Day resident; Jim Klusmier, business owner; Kara Kohfield, John Day resident; Alec Oliver, Seneca rancher; Levi Manitsas, John Day pastor; Ashley Stevick, John Day resident; Lindsey Madden, John Day Realtor; Brandon Smith, John Day business owner; Haley Walker, school board trustee and airport manager; Clint Benge, business owner; Lisa Weigum, John Day-Canyon City Parks and Recreation board and Canyon City resident; King Williams, business owner and Canyon City resident; Elliot Sky, Mt. Vernon resident; LeAnne Gast, business owner and John Day resident; Jeremy Field, Prairie City resident; Amanda Martino, Blue Mountain Land Trust and Mt. Vernon resident; Kate Cueno, Forest Service and John Day resident; and Shaun Robertson, business owner.

The council chose 12 people for the Technical Advisory Committee: Shannon Adair, business owner and city councilor; Angie Jones, Grant County Transportation District general manager; Shane Griffin, Oregon Department of Transportation; Ken Boethin, John Day Planning Commission chairman; Derek Daly, Blue Mountain Hospital CEO; Curt Shelley, Grant School District superintendent; Scott Myers, Grant County judge; Russ Young, John Day-Canyon City Parks and Recreation board; Ryan Nehl, Malheur National Forest; Brent Smith, Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife; Bruce Ward, Grant County Chamber of Commerce president; and Robert Waltenburg, Grant County Education Service District superintendent.

The council also chose five people to serve on the source selection committee for the Transportation and Growth Management plan for the Innovation Gateway: Green; Ron Lundbom, John Day mayor; Dave Holland, John Day city councilor; Monte Legg, John Day public works director; and Cheryl Jarvis-Smith, Oregon Department of Transportation project manager.

Following the appointments, Green noted that the committees sometimes will be led by a professional facilitator.

“We hope these appointees are generally in favor of these projects, but we also want critical thinking,” Green said.


Share and Discuss


User Comments