Home Life People

Elks scholarship winners announced

Blue Mountain Eagle

Published on June 14, 2017 3:49PM

James Clay Johnson

James Clay Johnson

Jessica Carter

Jessica Carter

Buy this photo

The John Day Elks Lodge No. 1824 scholarship first-place winner is 2017 Rimrock Christian Academy home school graduate James Clay Johnson, and in second place is Jessica Carter, a 2017 Grant Union High School graduate.

Johnson will receive $2,000 to be paid out at $1,000 a year over two years, and Carter will receive $1,000 to be paid out at $500 a year over two years.

Scholarship chairman Connie Wood said there were several applicants for the scholarships, which made the decision difficult for the judges.

“A big thank you goes out to the judges and to each student who took the time to apply,” Wood said. “I would like to thank everyone for help making our lodge part of a great community.”


Share and Discuss


User Comments