OTEC honors Pettyjohn, elects officers

The Peggi Timm Civic Leadership Award Winner, Verna Pettyjohn, is congratulated by Greg Howard, OTEC board president, and Jim Horan, manager of communications and government affairs.

BURNS – More than 300 people turned out for Oregon Trail Electric Coop’s 26th annual membership meeting May 3 at the Harney County Fairgrounds in Burns.

The second annual Peggi Timm Civic Leadership Award was presented to Verna Pettyjohn of Burns.

She was honored for her commitment to Eastern Oregon through her leadership at the Harney County Senior and Community Center, the Hospital Healthcare Advisory Committee, and with a variety of health, religious and community service organizations in our region.

Pettyjohn selected the Harney County Senior and Community Center to receive the $25,000 donation, made available through earnings on unclaimed capital credits. 

The event included an update from OTEC Board president Greg Howard and general manager Werner Buehler on the state of the electric cooperative, and learn the results of board elections. 

George Galloway of Union County was re-elected to Position 1 with 3,229 votes, and

Charles Hofmann of Baker County was re-elected to Position 2 with 3,166 votes.

In Position 3, Robert Cargill of Harney County was re-elected with 2,024 votes, defeating Alfred Hellbusch, who received 1,326 votes.

The winner of the ballot drawing for the flat-screen TV was Dawna Sue Nyman of Burns.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.