Sam Riggs brings rock-infused country music to Madden Center April 20

Contributed photoMusician Sam Riggs will perform April 20 at the Madden Brothers Performing Arts Center.

Singer-songwriter Sam Riggs of Texas will take the stage at the Madden Brothers Performing Arts Center on Friday, April 20, bringing his own style of country music with a rock-infused sound and sense of daring.

To add to the excitement, Riggs is giving away an Epiphone guitar and a private lesson to be awarded before his performance on April 20. To sign up for the drawing, visit the Madden Brothers website at

Doors open at 6 p.m. with the concert starting at 7:30 p.m. at the events center located at 116 Bridge St. in John Day.

Joe Madden said he and his brother Jesse, owners of the performing arts center, were impressed with Riggs after hearing some of his songs on XM Radio, including “Second-Hand Smoke.”

“We’re excited about him coming. He puts on a really good show,” Joe Madden said. “The people we talked to said he is extremely good live, and brings a lot of his own equipment, to make it a better show.”

Joe added, Riggs is an up-and-coming artist.

“He’s getting a big name himself,” Joe said.

General admission is $25, and seated tickets are $30. Admission for children ages 7-12 is $15, and children 6 and under are admitted free.

To buy tickets, visit the Madden Brothers website or call 800-504-4849.

Sam Riggs’ music video “One More Chance to Stay” can also be viewed at the website.

His musical influences include Garth Brooks, Foo Fighters, George Jones and Blink-182.

His latest album, “Breathless,” released in 2016, debuted at No. 12 on the Billboard Country Albums chart. To date, he’s racked up more than 2.2 million streams on Spotify and over 600,000 views on YouTube.

Opening for Riggs is Tylor & The Train Robbers, a band from Idaho known for their blend of gritty Americana and outlaw honky tonk.

Lead singer Tylor Ketchum grew up in Helix, Oregon, and his younger brother Jason Bushman plays bass and sings backup. Flip Perkins is on drums and Johnny Pisano is on guitar.

Their latest album “Gravel,” released in May of 2017, is a compilation of 10 original songs written by Ketchum.


Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.