CANYON CITY - Next Tuesday, Oct. 12, is the deadline for Oregonians to register to cast ballots in the general election, if they aren't already registered.

Unregistered voters can pick up forms at the Courthouse in Canyon City, or also online at If mailed, they need to be postmarked no later than Oct. 12.

Postmarks won't count, however, for ballots in the Nov. 2 election. The ballots will be mailed to voters Oct. 15, and must be returned to the Grant County Clerk's office by 8 p.m. on Election Day.

Ballots can be mailed back or dropped off at the Courthouse. The county has a new 24-hour drop box in Canyon City on the curb between the Sheriff's Office and the rear door of the Courthouse.

Local residents have plenty of reasons to register to vote, with key statewide races, several ballot measures, and an array of local positions on the ballot.

Voters will decide whether Republican nominee Chris Dudley or Democrat and Independent Party nominee John Kitzhaber will be Oregon's next governor. Also seeking the state's top elected post are Greg Kord, Constitution Party, and Wes Wagner, Libertarian Party.

U.S. Sen. Ron Wyden (D-Ore.) is facing a challenge from Republican Jim Huffman, a constitutional law professor, in a race that also drew candidates from three minor parties.

Measures on the ballot could authorize a casino in Multnomah County, change mandatory sentences for some crimes, create a sales system for medical marijuana, expand home loan program for veterans and require annual legislative sessions.

Grant County voters also will help fill seats in the Oregon House. Incumbent Rep. Cliff Bentz (R-Ontario) is unopposed in District 60, but Rep. John Huffman (R-The Dalles) faces a challenge from Will Boettner, a Democrat with county government experience who hails from Fossil.

In Grant County, voters will fill two countywide posts.

The sole county commission race features incumbent Boyd Britton, a Republican, and challenger Nancy Nickel, a Democrat.

Four candidates are vying to fill the county clerk job for the remainder of the term left open by the retirement of Kathy McKinnon. The four - Dana Brooks, Andrea Officer, Brenda Percy and Vicki Waters - are featured in this week's Eagle.

Some city posts likely will be filled by write-ins.

In Granite, Dolores Schnitzer was the sole candidate to file for city council, which has three at-large openings. No one filed for mayor.

In Monument, no one filed for any of the three open council positions, or the three Monument Soil and Water Conservation District seats on the ballot.

The other cities drew these candidates:

Canyon City

? Council (vote for three) - Diane Blake, Steve Fischer, Jim Johnston


? Mayor - Jody Winkelman

? Council, Position 2 - Merle Metcalf

? Council, Position 3 - no filing

? Council, Position 4 - Peter Bogardus

John Day

? Mayor - Bob Quinton

? Council (vote for three) - Don Caldwell, Chris Labhart, Gene Officer

Long Creek

? Mayor - Don Porter

? Council, Position 3 - Alvin Hunt

? Council, Position 4 - Kelly Uehlin

Mt. Vernon

? Mayor - Deanna Bezona, Susan Horn

? Council (vote for two) - Ray Stegman, Brad Cates

Prairie City

? Mayor - Stan Horrell, Tim Coe, Alvan (Tim) Cooley

? Council (vote for three) - Les Church, Carole Garrison, Frank Primozic, Gary Waterhouse


? Council (vote for three) - Alice Clark, Sue Holliday, Glenda Lovens, Warren Lee Wilson

Voters also will fill posts on the Grant Soil and Water Conservation District board, with John Morris and Joanne Keerins running unopposed for the two open posts.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.