ELECTION UPDATE: Hamsher wins Prairie City mayoral race

Prairie City Mayor Jim Hamsher, who launched a write-in campaign for the position, looks at election results Tuesday evening. Hamsher won the race when write-in votes were counted Wednesday morning.

According to Grant County Clerk Brenda Percy, who started counting write-in ballots at 10 a.m. following Election Day, her office received 286 ballots with a write-in candidate for Prairie City mayor.

Hamsher received 218 write-in votes, and Taci Philbrook received 59. Percy said some write-in votes were rejected because of misspellings.

Registered mayoral candidates Frances Preston and Carole Garrison received 107 and 87 votes, respectively.

In Monument, where no candidates registered for three city council seats, Jabe Philip Merricks won the race for Position 4 with nine write-in votes, and Sherry Carpenter won the race for Position 5 with 14 write-in votes.

Stephanie Gilbert and Rusty Baughman each received four write-in votes for Position 6. Percy said it will be up to the Monument City Council to decide how to settle the tie vote.

Percy recalled how, years ago, a tied mayoral race in Prairie City was settled by flipping a coin out on the street in front of city hall — Hamsher won the coin toss.

For a full list of Grant County election results, click here.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.