The Grant County Futures Scholarship has named three winners this year and announces a major donation to the program.

The 2016-2017 scholarship winners are Lindsay Bullock who is working on an associate’s degree in accounting from Blue Mountain Community College; Cody Nielsen, who is studying computer science, also for an associate’s degree from BMCC; and Rhiannon Bauman, who is working on a bachelor’s degree in physical activity and health through Eastern Oregon University.

The scholarship program has received a donation of over $10,000 from Blue Mountain TV Cable Company, in honor of former owner, Jack McKenna, who supported educational and job training opportunities for adults in Grant County.

The funds will be invested through the EOU Foundation and will increase available funds for local students who seek degrees through the Grant County Center, 835 S. Canyon Blvd., John Day.

For more information about the scholarship, and EOU and BMCC programs, contact director/advisor Chris Cronin at 541-575-2168.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.